Air Pollution Crop Effect Network (APCEN)

Assessing air pollution impacts on agriculture



Agenda

11th to 13th March 2008
Asian Institute of Technology Conference Centre (AITCC)
Pathumthani (Nr. Bangkok), Thailand





Malé Declaration: Workshop on Crop Impacts

Pathumthani (Nr. Bangkok), Thailand 11 March 2008.

Date	Programme	Lead facilitator
10 March	Arrival of participants	
11 March 09:00-10:30	Opening Session	
10.30-11.00	Tea/Coffee break	
11:00-12:30	 Presentation on Malé Declaration and its implementation by Mylvakanam Iyngararasan Presentation on the progress of the crop impact studies by Patrick Büker Presentation on the experience in other parts of the world by Peter Smit 	
12:30-13:30	Lunch	
13:30 -15:00	 Presentation of results of bio-monitoring and EDU study in various Malé Declaration countries by country representatives 	
15.00 – 15.15	Tea/Coffee break	
15.15 – 17.45	 Presentation of results of bio-monitoring and EDU study in various Malé Declaration countries by country representatives Discussion on problems encountered in Malé countries, sources of problems and how to solve them Discussion on future activities and report preparation 	

3rd APCEN Network Meeting

Pathumthani (Nr. Bangkok), Thailand 12th to 13th March, 2008

Tuesday, 11th March

Arrival of APCEN participants not attending Malé workshop

Wednesday, 12 th	March
-----------------------------	-------

Chair: Lisa Emberson

9.00 to 9.30 **Introduction**: Aims of the workshop **Lisa Emberson**

9.30 to 11.00 **Experimental evidence presentations**

Review of RAPIDC bio-monitoring campaigns

Patrick Büker, Pieter Smit

Introduction to Protocol working group discussion

Patrick Büker

11.00 to 11.30 Coffee/Tea Break

11.30 to 13.00 **Working groups**: Protocol Discussion

13.00 to 14.00 Lunch

14.00 to 16.00 **Working groups**: Protocol Discussion cont...

16.00 to 16.30 Coffee/Tea Break

Chair: Patrick Büker

16.30 to 17.00 **Working Groups** Report back to plenary on protocols discussion

Plenary discussion and agreement of protocol conclusions

17.00 to 17.30 Introductions to Day Two....

Fiona Marshall

18.30 Meet for Conference Dinner Excursion
Convening of Chairs and Rapps...at Conference Dinner

Thursday, 13th March

Chair: Hakan Pleijel

Progress and Future Activities...N.B. Refer to Gatekeeper Series No. 73 Marshall et al. (1988)

9.00 to 9.30 Experimental evidence for ozone impacts to crops...FACE studies

Zhaozhong Feng

9.30 to 10.00 New modelling methods for risk assessments of ozone impacts on crops

Lisa Emberson

10.00 to 10.30 Current status and new advances in monitoring and modelling ground level ozone

Pakpong Pochanart

10.30 to 11.00 Air Pollution Policy in India...how has it changed over the last 10 years?

C.K.Varshney

11.00 to 11.30 Coffee/Tea Break

11.30 to 13.00 Working Group Discussions on:-

- i) Advances in experimental evidence
- ii) Understanding interactions with other stresses
- iii) Risk assessment modelling methods
- iv) Policy engagement...(impacts on livelihoods; food security)
- v) Development of a "policy brief"
- vi) Prioritisation of future research activities...(funding; support of policy brief)

13.00 to 14.00 Lunch

Chair: Carolyn Snell

14.00 to 14.30 Working Groups Report back to plenary

14.30 to 16.00 Working Group Discussions cont...

Prioritisation of action points

16.00 to 16.30 Coffee/Tea Break

Chair: Lisa Emberson

16.30 to 17.00 Working Groups Report back to plenary

17.00 to 17.30 Agreements of Future plans; Summary of Workshop Achievements

Close of workshop

19.00 Dinner

Working Groups

Working Group I

Chair Fiona Marshall (UK)

Rapporteur Madhoolika Agrawal (India)

- 1. Pieter Smit (South Africa)
- 2. Chuba Jamir (India/UK)
- 3. Sheikh Saeed Ahmad (Pakistan)
- 4. Lal Prasad Amagin (Nepal)
- 5. Jigme Zangmo (Bhutan)
- 6. Zhaozhong Feng (China)
- 7. S.L. Ranamukhaarachchi (Thailand)
- 8. Prashant Gargava (India)

Working Group II

Chair Mohan Behl (India)

Rapporteur Hakan Pleijel (Sweden)

- 1. Eunice Mangosho (Zimbabwe)
- 2. Patrick Büker (UK)
- 3. Caz Snell (UK)
- 4. C.K Varshney (India)
- 5. Towid Islam (Bangladesh)
- 6. Pakpong Pochnart (Japan)
- 7. Ali Lishan (Maldives)
- 8. Kim Oahn (Thailand)

Working Group III

Chair G.A.D. Perera (Sri Lanka)

Rapporteur Kazuhiko Kobayashi (Japan)

- 1. Peter Bundi (Kenya)
- 2. Lisa Emberson (UK)
- 3. S.B. Agrawal (India)
- 4. S. Razi Abbas Shamsi (Pakistan)
- 5. Abdul Muhsin Ramiz (Maldives)
- 6. Amnat Chidthaisong (Thailand)
- 7. Vanisa Surapipith (Thailand)